Front door

History

The Royal Canadian Legion recommended a public meeting be held on December 11, 1947 to explore the construction of a Memorial Hall. At this meeting the Eastend Memorial Hall Co-operative Association Limited was formed and a fund-raising drive was started. The Legion had looked at an Air Force buildings at Mossbank and Assiniboia with the idea of moving one to Eastend.

In July of 1947 and agreement was made between the Eastend Memorial Hall board and the Eastend School District and the Eastend School Unit. This agreement saw the Hall board donate $10,000 to assist with the building and equipping of a combined technical high school and community centre. The Hall board obtained a 99 year lease on the main auditorium and club rooms.

In July of 1947 a crew was sent to Mossbank to dismantle the air force mess hall and move it to Eastend. This was done by Eldon Bengtson. Construction was started in May 1948 and had advanced enough for a dance to be held by the Light Horse Association in September and the annual carnival was held in October. School classes opened in August 1949, in the new facility.

In December 1972 negotiations began between the Hall Board and the School Unit to divide the Hall. A new school gym was built and in 1975 the building was divided with the school getting the woodwork shop and the Hall getting the old Legion room, main auditorium and Tea Room.

A major renovation took place in 1977-78 with the remodeling of the roof and washrooms, new wall coverings in the teal room and the main hall.